Interview with Kelly Lin Wright

The daughter of a friend of mine is majoring in psychology and her latest assignment is to interview someone she admires. I was honored that she chose me, and that she gave me permission to use her interview as a blog post. I thought an insight into my background and who I am would give some solidarity to those who choose to work with me.

Interview with Kelly Lin Wright

Question: I understand that you were not born in the United States. Where were you born?
Kelly: I was born in a city called Durban in South Africa.

Question: What was your childhood like?
Kelly: It was fun. I lived my childhood on the safer side. I loved to learn and discover how and why things worked the way that they did. As I got older, I enjoyed being with my friends, going to the beach and listening to music. I always worked hard at school and stayed focused on my goals. My first ‘real’ job was at the age of 16. I worked in what could be compared to a Barnes and Nobles here. I loved it and was very dedicated. I earned R350 for the entire 6 weeks I was there. That’s only a little over $100, but I was so proud and excited about it then.

Question: When did you decide to relocate to this country?
Kelly: I came to the US in September, 2000.

Question: What is your background in website design?
Kelly: I have been in this field since about 2002, when I began working with a friend of mine who had an online bead store. One weekend I came home with Macromedia Dreamweaver, a website development program for those out there who don’t know, and I taught myself HTML. That’s where it all started.

Question: What is your educational background?
Kelly: I have a Bachelor’s Degree in Accounting and Auditing. I’m certified as a Business Coach; and I have a lot of self-taught knowledge around web design and marketing.

Question: What is your work experience?
Kelly: My background is in accounting and coaching, and I’ve held positions using both over the years as office manager, hardware and software technology processing and ultimately in e-commerce. I work with people to develop themselves personally in a way that directs their life to be powerful, free and of their own choosing. My coaching has focused mainly on careers and people in the work environment. I developed my web design business to not only embrace the technical nuts and bolts, but to also teach the owner to handle the maintenance and upkeep of his brand’s front door.

Question: What is your favorite element of what you do?
Kelly: I think what I love the best is sharing my knowledge and teaching/coaching others what they need and what they can do themselves.

Questions: What are some of your interests besides websites and the Internet?
Kelly: I have an online craft and jewelry supply store; and I travel to other parts of the country to sell at trade shows. I really enjoy meeting and talking with all the people who attend these shows, and soaking up the culture in the different cities I visit. I still love listening to music, traveling whenever I get the chance and experiencing anything new.

Question: How do you picture yourself in 10 years?
Kelly: Being in front of people. I love teaching and interacting with an audience, so that is my ultimate goal for the future.

By | 2017-02-21T18:52:51+00:00 February 23rd, 2017|Uncategorized|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment